Kansas Narcotics Officer's Association


Each year at the annual KNOA Training Conference we honor members of the organization for their outstanding accomplishments during the past year in drug enforcement. Please help us recognize all those who are committed to drug enforcement.  

Nominations will begin being accepted on December 1st, 2023.  All nominations are due no later than February 9th, 2024.  Make a nomination ONLINE using the link below!

  • KNOA OFFICER OF THE YEAR – This honor is granted to a member of law enforcement who has distinguished himself/herself through dedicated service and personal achievement in drug enforcement duties.
  • NARCOTIC UNIT OF THE YEAR – This award will be granted to an entire Narcotic Unit that has had an outstanding case(s) in the past year or has illustrated that they are committed to continued drug enforcement.
  • CANINE OFFICER OF THE YEAR - This award will be bestowed upon a K-9 officer and his/her canine for the outstanding drug enforcement in the state of Kansas.
  • PROSECUTOR OF THE YEAR – This award recognizes and honors a prosecutor that has been committed to the strong enforcement of Kansas narcotic laws. The award is based on a long-standing record of contributions or for his or her extraordinary efforts as a prosecutor.

Nomination Process:

All nominees shall be in good standing with KNOA and must be nominated by another individual (does not have to be a KNOA member).  All nominations should be concise and typed. The cover page should consist of the following items:

  • Nomination for which Award
  • Name of Nominee/Unit
  • Agency name, address and phone number
  • Name of person making the nomination and contact information

The nomination itself should include information such as:

  • Professional achievements
  • Outstanding activities- please list in chronological order for the year preceding the conference to include arrests/seizures etc.

The awards can be based on a specific case or any number of accomplishments in drug enforcement for the prior year.

Please provide copies of newspaper clippings, letters of appreciation/recognition, or other appropriate documents you wish considered.

All award recipients will be selected by the KNOA Executive Board and will receive notification prior to the conference with an invitation to attend the awards ceremony with their family or guest(s).

Remember, the board will make its selection based on your submission!

Nominations must be received no later than February 9th, 2024.  Nominations should be completed online using the link above.

2022 Officer of the Year Award - Detective Christopher Hehemann; Sedgwick County Sheriff's Office

2022 K9 Handler Team of the Year Award - Officer Chuck Huen and K9 Addie; Abilene Police Department

2022 Narcotics Unit of the Year Award - DEA Task Force 3 Kansas Highway Patrol Interdiction Group 42A  

2022 Steven Wilhoft Memorial Prosecutor of the Year Award -

KNOA: To promote the cooperation, education and exchange of information among all Law Enforcement Agencies involved in the enforcement of controlled substance laws.

PO Box 1218
Hays, KS 67601

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software